HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!!

17 Mar

Top O’ The Mornin’ to ya!!


Okay, so yes I have been made fun of for my bright green car.  But hey, on days like this it really comes in handy.  I let the guys in the office next door have it every year on St. Patty’s day.  They have a wall of windows in their office overlooking where we park.

I always try to pull up to work on St. P Day with my bright green car (of course!) a green outfit, talking on my green phone, and anything else I can whip up.

It’s always a lot of fun getting out of my car because I know they are like

WOW, that is green overload.

I used to say that my favorite color was blue and it has been for many years, but it wasn’t until recently that I realized I had a true love for the color green.  Some say I am crazy to have JUST  discovered this.  Well maybe just a little.

It was the fall of 07′ when I purchased my Kiwi Green Honda Element.  It was love at first sight!  I had to have one.  It wasn’t until someone commented to me while giving them the tour of my interesting vehicle.  They said, “Is green your favorite color?”  I was like, “No, why?” I was actually confused why they would ask.

Yes, I was serious!!!  I know, I replayed the conversation that night and thought it sounded funny too.  You know, the fact that I was surprised they asked that.  It really made me laugh too.

I began to think about my color choices with things.  And VOILA, I realized I was truly a green enthusiast.

I had just become conditioned to say that blue was my favorite color.  Hey, why can’t a girl have two favorite colors??

Well, I think I really got honest when I bought the green cell phone, it was just the natural choice.  I also have a favorite green pen at work that someone gave me the other day and sadly a green covered iPod.  Oh well, I know you guys won’t hold it against me.

So that’s my green confession!  I LOVE GREEN! and blue…

So, with this story follows another, secretly I love St. Patrick’s Day!  It’s a great excuse to wear green and to have some fun with friends and even complete strangers.  Plus, there’s always green beer!

Kansas City is dense with Irish people so it has always been a very celebrated event here.  There is always tons of Irish parties, festivals and two parades.  I had a girlfriend when I was young, whose family was Irish and they would have their own St. Patties Parties, it was a Hoot!!  Her grandmother was the biggest party’r of all, they even died their beer green, boat-loads of fun!

When I was in high-school my sister and I would sneak out to of school and go to the parade.  Sometimes we didn’t have to sneak and our mom would just call us in.  It was a blast!  We felt like it was an adventure, we made most of our friends mad that they had to be in school.  One time, we didn’t even make it to the parade on time, we just got lost and drove around until the parade was over.  (I wasn’t driving…)

Unfortunately, it almost always rains on St. Patrick’s Day, which makes for  a soggy parade.

When this would happen, my sister and I would go to Perkins.  That was the place to go after events, still is, I think?

Are you IRISH? And do you celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?  I have a little Irish in my genes, among other things.

It’s funny sometimes you get people who are like bah humbug. They notice that you are wearing green and question your Irish heritage.  I just laugh.  Just so you know, I don’t care if you are Irish or not, if you want to celebrate, then by all means, GO TO TOWN, I’ll be the one right next to you in GREEN!

2 Responses to “HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!!”

  1. Colleen March 17, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Top O’ to u Lassie. Go Irish! Love your blog, way to fight for your right to be Irish (or admit you like St. Patricks Day). You make me proud to call you a Green lover…

    Colleen

  2. Tiifany March 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    ohhh nooo. you are gonna get me in trouble. I think I had a revelation. My confession is I Love Green Also. When faced with a decision i always go green. P.s. thanks for outing my past perkins passion. Love you.

Leave a comment