HELLO-OH!

9 Mar

HELLO-OH!

Hey guys!  I’m still around here, doin my thang.  Just haven’t really had a whole lot of time to cook or post anything in the last week.  Alright this is the edit to this post:  I have not given up on you.  I took some awesome pictures for this post and haven’t been able to get them off of my sim card.  ARGHHH! So for now you’ll have to read just text, shortly I should have it fixed or have a new camera…Whoo Hoo to the last one.

But I do have a recipe that I wanted to share for potatoes.  I was at the President’s Day Sale at Price Chopper the other week and picked up a 10 lb. bag of russet potatoes for only 99¢.  I was so proud of myself.   I will admit that I did go to that store specifically for the potatoes.  I couldn’t pass up the deal!  I’m a deal junkie, okay not really.

You can feed an army on potatoes!

So I get home and it dawns on me that I have no idea what I am going to do with all these potatoes!!!  I don’t really make anything with potatoes unless it’s mashed, baked or in with a roast.  Even at that we don’t eat a ton of potatoes.

Flipped on PBS and caught the Cooking with Julia & Jacques: Cooking at Home.  Guess what they were cooking… Yep POTATOES!!!  I was so excited!  They had a special name for the two recipes of potatoes that they were doing.  I don’t remember honestly.  But we’ll just call them scalloped.

The recipe was so easy that you don’t really need to use a recipe.  I just took notes in my head and then ran into the kitchen to hurriedly put my own potato dish together.

For this recipe I recommend using a food processor as it makes it very fast and easy.  (I refuse to slice potatoes this thin by hand.)

What you’ll need:

12″ saucepan (oven safe) or something about same size

8 med-large potatoes (doesn’t have to be exact)

1 Quart Stock (Whatever you like)

1 Onion

1-2 Sprigs of Thyme

Salt/Pepper to Taste

First, pre-heat your oven to 350°.  Next, you will want to get your potatoes peeled and then sliced in the food processor. (You could use a mandolin, too)  Slice your onion in the food processor as well.  If doing by hand, you want your slices to be fairly thin so they will cook through in the oven.

Side note:  Do not rinse your potatoes after sliced.  You will need all of the starch to make your sauce into a thick, yummy, bubbly dish.

Put your sliced potatoes and onions in your saucepan and on to the stove top.  Give ’em a gentle toss to distribute.  Add stock, just covering the potatoes.  Salt and Pepper to taste.  Bring mixture to a low boil.  Turn the burner off and tuck your sprig or sprigs of Thyme into the mix.

Toss it into the oven uncovered for about 30 min.  Just check for doneness.  As I said before I made this dish without a recipe.  So, if I can do it, then I know you’ll be able to pull it off.

This is very versatile too, you can sub Rosemary for Thyme or whatever you like.  They also made some similar to this dish but used half milk and half cream and some butter.  You can do whatever you want just use your imagination.

It was a definite husband pleaser, he was impressed at how yummy and full of flavor they were.

Leave a Reply

